The Church of Today, Pt. 2

Pastor Johnny is a Mexican-American guy, married to a Korean woman, with Korexican kids. Loves Jesus. Committed to youth and community engagement. Writes and plays music. Follows sports. Misses acting. Appreciates feedback. This post is Part Two of a three-part series titled: The Church of Today. See Part One HERE.

Catterfly Still Processing

I wonder what most teens in our city were doing this morning. I am sure some were up, maybe even up to something good. I know there are other churches, at least one or two, with sizable youth ministries. Maybe a lot of kids were there. I wonder because I spent the morning with a group of teens who have challenged and blessed me, and I cannot imagine spending that time any better.

On the night before we departed for our youth group mission trip to Ensenada, Mexico, a realization descended on me like a tree on an unsuspecting lumberjack: I felt no desire to go. The youth pastor was done, and we hadn’t even started yet.

And it did not stop there. A few times during our adventure, I knew I was at the edge of me. I had thought of myself as tough and accustomed to missions like…

View original post 376 more words

2 thoughts on “The Church of Today, Pt. 2

  1. Pingback: The Church of Today, Pt. 1 | Love God, Love People, Change the World

  2. Pingback: The Church of Today, Pt. 3 | Love God, Love People, Change the World

Leave a Reply

