The Pope is a Sinner (His Words, Not Mine)

Headshot - Johnny CabreraPastor Johnny is a Mexican-American guy, married to a Korean woman, with Korexican kids. Loves Jesus. Committed to youth and community engagement. Writes and plays music. Follows sports. Misses acting. Appreciates feedback. He’s also the Youth and Outreach Pastor at Trinity Church. Check out his blog at:catterflystillprocessing.wordpress.com

Catterfly Still Processing

pope1_0

I have never liked the Pope. It’s not that I dislike whatever individual happens to be in that position–not that I know him personally anyway–but it’s the position itself that has never sat well with me. People crowd around to have him kiss their babies. Whatever he says is gold to those who revere him. People even address him as “Holy Father.” I thought that title was only reserved for God Himself.  I guess I, like many others, are wary of clergy who are put on a pedestal that no mortal man could ever live up to.

Granted, I have strong Catholic roots. Both of my parents came from Catholic families, and they both went through catechism, First Holy Communion, and Confirmation. They can still recite the prayers; my mom still remembers them in Spanish. Until he had an encounter with God that changed him forever, my dad was strongly…

View original post 493 more words

Leave a Reply

