The God Who Keeps on Forgiving

 

“The God Who Keeps On Forgiving”

By Wilton Lee

Through the Shadows of my history,

You have attempted to bring me out of my misery.

Although I was foolish for rejecting,

You were persistent and kept on accepting.

You’ve brought me to a place called Trinity,

And now I have a new gracious Family.

You have showed me the path of righteousness,

Now it is up to me to fulfill my promise.

I know that there will be challenges,

But that is why I must manage.

I am grateful that you continued loving me,

For now you have set me Free…

This is a poem that I have personally written recently to signify my journey with god.  For those who don’t know me, I recently started my journey with God last January.  My inspiration on writing this poem was to express how much God has changed by life.  So let’s break it down.

“Through the Shadows of my history,

You have attempted to bring me out of my misery.”

Before I became a Christian, I never turned to God for guidance. I believed that everything in life was achieved solely from hard work.  Living with the “Every man for Himself” manner.  God have attempted to reach out to me multiple times throughout my life. But I refused until the day he took away everything dearest to me, thus beginning my new journey with Christ.

“Although I was foolish for rejecting,

You were persistent and kept on accepting.”

This verse was to express the emotion I felt as I started to accept Christ. No matter how much I’ve sinned, God still invested in me. No matter how many times I refused, he kept reaching out to me.

romans_5-8-737454

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 5:8

In my mind I was thinking who is God? Why does he care so much about me?  And throughout my journey I have come to realize that God himself is Love.

Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. 

1 John 4:8 

“You’ve brought me to a place called Trinity,

And now I have a new gracious Family. “

During what I currently called “The lowest point in my Life”, I was lost, sad, confused. Whatever negative connotation you could come up with probably described me at that moment.  It was this time where God used one of my best friends to guide me towards Christ.   He brought me to a small church named Trinity Church of the Nazarene and since then I’ve met a community whom I can call a “My Family”.

You have showed me the path of righteousness,

Now it is up to me to fulfill my promise.

I know that there will be challenges,

But that is why I must manage.

Currently I feel that God has given me the necessary tools to fulfill his plan for me.  He has brought me out of my past and set me on a new path which he personally laid out.  I know that throughout my journey there will be difficult times to come, but it is up to not just me but other Christians as well to maintain my faith and persevere.

I am grateful that you continued loving me,

For now you have set me Free…

This was the most touching verse for me as I was writing this because I feel that God has truly released me from the shackles of my past and struggles through the power of his love. This is the power of Love. The power of God!

abba-father1 

For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”

Romans 8:15

My life after Christ has changed significantly. I have more courage than ever before. My relationships with friends and family have never been closer than ever. I am looking to experience new aspects of life and to figure whether or not it is a part of God plan for me.  And to conclude my Blog, here is a video of my Sky Diving session.  Enjoy!!!

One thought on “The God Who Keeps on Forgiving

Leave a Reply

