I’m coming out for the LGBT community: A love letter from me

This is part two of a five part reblog series taken from Samuel Lam’s “Write a Blog on a Log” dealing with questions of faith and fear, inclusion and exclusion. Sam has an unusually nuanced and fair approach to issues like homosexuality, bullies, salvation, and fundamentalism. This second post was written as an open letter to the LGBT community. In it Sam expresses the tension he experiences as a follower of Jesus’s example of love on the one hand and his membership in the evangelical church on the other. He comments, “The reason why I probably was never vocal for or against homosexuality is because I am Christian. I was afraid to voice an opinion on it because I didn’t know what was the right view. Go with the Bible and scold those who are gay? Or do what Jesus did and love people unconditionally no matter what? Either way, I was afraid to be wrong.”

Write a blog on a log, Sam I am

Preface: This was something that had been stirring in my heart for the past couple weeks. I can’t pinpoint exactly why, but I felt that I needed to write this post… or at least put it out there. 

I am not actually gay. But having grown up in the Bay Area, having gay friends and really observing as an outsider, I wanted to share my thoughts on it. I haven’t been vocal about it in the past and part of it came because I wasn’t sure what to say. Now after some thinking, praying and reflection, I feel that at some level, I think I get it.  

I probably will get some negative responses to this and that’s fine with me. I might get positive ones too. This message comes from the heart and I write this out of love. 

===

When I first even got a glimpse…

View original post 1,991 more words

Leave a Reply

