I Don’t Believe in the God I Worship

A companion piece to this reblog was written by Pastor Albert. You can find it HERE.

GHOZT WRITER

I lead worship at two churches. One is Trinity’s house church, the Fellowship. The last time I lead there my set included: “Give Me Jesus,” “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” “One Thing Remains,” and Hillsong’s “Hosanna.” Each of these songs is filled with Christian imagery and theology, full of faith and hope in God, adoration and joy in Him. I chose these songs, carefully and lovingly. And I played them with all my heart.

Comfortable with a guitar and able to project my singing voice (even if amelodically), I like knowing that people like it when I lead music, however flawed. And that sometimes, someone actually enters into a true space of worship: meeting God, connecting to Him, praying, thanking and supplicating. I am amazed by this, and can only credit something far larger than myself as the catalyst.

But I don’t actually believe in the God I worship.

View original post 717 more words

Leave a Reply

